Welcome to YouTube

In my last post, I mentioned how I’d started working on my YouTube channel. Since then, I have gone on to upload for the first time and, honestly, it was the most stressful period of my life.

In case you were wondering, the video can be found here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xwZ9Y8IC7HQ

Despite making YouTube videos in the past, I found this project quite challenging. This is mainly because my first channel was a gaming channel that was shared between four other users. This video, however, was made solely by me, using a program I’d never used before – tough stuff.

Producing this minor 3-minute video took an astonishing 30+ hours to create, which is the equivalent to about 7 years as an engineering student… Absolutely ridiculous!

Alas, it feels great getting back onto the YouTube scene and I look forward to uploading more videos in the future. I’ll also try and further explain a lot of my videos via this blog, just to go more in-depth about some of the ideas I address throughout.

Without further ado, this is the logic behind my first video…

Love and relationships have grown to dominate a large proportion of modern media. This enables us to explore a wide range of interesting sociological concepts and ideas, such as individualisation. In this video, however, I discuss an issue that I often see come up in all sorts of TV shows and video games, and more so in real life since starting university in 2016. This issue seems to perpetuate in all forms of social interaction, and I thought it would be interesting to have my say on the matter. Specifically, the issue I have is that people often get very angry in the situation where they see their partner talking to another individual of the opposite sex. This, from my experience, often leads to unnecessary violence and conflicts between groups of friends or classmates, which is never a good thing; especially for something so minor.

In this video, I discuss 3 simple steps you should follow in this situation, typically in a club or during any other social event. My idea is that one should feel at least some sense of pride in the fact that someone is making an effort to try and impress your other half. I believe that your partner is often a reflection of how you treat them, so if someone else can see the beauty in your partner, it’s safe to say that you’re doing something right. Usually, in this case, your other half should know better than to let anything happen with this stranger, as you can often assume that nothing will happen, after all, love is just a game of trust. With this in mind, you should only really intervene if your partner is distressed or dissatisfied with their sudden company – this is where your exceptional skills as a lover come into play. By stepping in at this point, you not only give your other half some space and freedom to enjoy some extra appreciation, but it also shows him or her that you are comfortable with them talking to other people; this is a great show a character and an excellent way to build trust. By you stepping up and making your relationship obvious to the person in question, you should find that the intruder no longer feels welcome.

For most, that would be the end of the story, but for others, this is just the beginning. It is, of course, possible that the intruder may want to overstay their welcome, and it’s usually best to remove yourself and your partner from this situation. This is a passive way to show the person that their company is no longer required. In the unlikely situation that the person continues to try and talk to your other half, well, it’s probably time to sound the rape alarm and cry for harassment.

Naturally, I can completely understand why an individual would want to get rowdy from the offset and call it day, but quite frankly I think aggravating the situation here will only make things worse in the long run and that’s the last thing anyone wants.

To summarise, trust is a very powerful tool in various aspects of social interaction, and this isn’t any less true when it comes to maintaining a meaningful relationship with the love of your life, so take it easy, live a little, and save the fighting for Wii sports.

One thought on “Welcome to YouTube

Leave a Reply

