Healthy Competition

Did you ever have a senior prom or ball in your schooling days? There’s always that one heartbreaking story where your friend, say Josh, had always had this weird crush on one of the best looking girls in the school, say Millie, but they’d never really spoken to each other. One of those weird teenage things. The time would come where your peers would begin to dedicate all of their energy into buying the clothes, planning the entries and, most importantly, finding their dates for prom. An odd Tuesday would come by and Josh would come into school wearing his lucky shoes and his dad’s cologne, in order to have the confidence he needed to walk up to Millie and ask her to go to prom with him. To your surprise, he actually believed in himself for once and he had the power. So he walks straight up to her and says;

“Hey, you look good today. Do you wanna go to prom with me?” only for her to say…

“Oh… Well, I’m sorta going with somebody else… Sorry!”

Ladies and gentlemen, introducing your pal Josh!

CurtRichy is that somebody else. That somebody else that my prom date before I even had the chance to make her mine. That somebody else stole my channel ideas before I could even conceive them.

Mr. CurtRichy is a fellow YouTuber who also started making videos in recent times, and in the last three weeks or so has reached ridiculous new heights with his channel, currently approaching 10,000 subscribers. I love his videos and I strongly recommend you all check out his channel and show the guy some love by liking his videos if you enjoy them, and subscribe to his channel for more content. My problem is, why is his direction so similar to mine?

I remember writing down a bunch of things I could do for my YouTube channel in terms of improving the quality of my videos, then speaking to some random people on Twitter for any immediate advice they could give regarding the videos I had already uploaded. A lot of users just said the same stuff. Get a microphone and work on audio quality, speak clearer and so on but nothing really useful, nothing that would take me to the levels that I want to reach.

Four useless conversations later, I found a guy who actually knew what the game was all about. After a few lines of advice, the guy recommended I check out a channel called CurtRichy for more “practical” tips, so I did.

What did I see?

I saw all the ideas I had just written down, executed to perfection. I saw my dream channel being run by someone else…

The sad thing is, when I went back to my own channel and watched my own videos, I was very disappointed with the low quality of my content, so now is the time to step it up.

It’s great too, however, because now I know exactly how big the gap really is, and I know how much there is left to learn – just when I thought it was going to be easy. Bare in mind that he only has around 9k subs, so obviously his content could be a little better too.

Initially, I was fuming, how can I possibly compete with this guy?

How can I try these things now if someone is already doing it, for similarly themed videos? And doing it so well…

It’s been about a week now and I still don’t know how to beat this guy, but I guess if you can’t beat them, you join them, right?

Alas, there’s nothing wrong with a little healthy competition. I’m currently about 70,000 views behind Curt and about 8000 subscribers, so I guess the battle is on.


To any of my readers that watch my YouTube videos too, feel free to message me or comment below about any video/blog ideas if there’s anything you want me to discuss next!

My content is getting much much better and this should be clear to see after exams when I get back on schedule for my uploads but hey, time will tell.

 

Leave a Reply

