Fidget Spinners Could Save The World

There’s a new, exciting trend: the fidget spinner. It’s basically a spinning top that’s spun in your hand rather than on a surface, for those of you that don’t already know. Perhaps you live under a rock or are 100s of miles away from children, or something. Instead of a handle, you have a pad in the centre of the fidget with ball bearings on the inside which enables the device to spin for a very long period of time. You can get them with two or three heads, in plastic or metal – some of the fancy ones even have LEDs!

Why is this even a thing? The fidget is supposedly a toy, but also a way to relieve stress, a treatment for ADHD and a classroom menace, among other things… Also… A superhero? 

Fidget spinners may or may not be any of those things, but what strikes me the most is the power they hold within… The power to save the world.

I remember when I was young, before everyone had a mobile phone. Before Facebook, Twitter and Snapchat. Back when I had to walk around the corner and knock on my friend’s doors in order to ask if they wanted to come outside because texting wasn’t a thing yet. We used to have to go to the local park to play football, now I just go the nearest PlayStation.

You were never really young until you had a collection, or seven. I remember rushing to the shops after school and begging my mum to buy me a pack of Match Attacks or Yu Gi Oh cards. Whether it be Pokémon, Dr. Who or even knockers and coins, everyone had something, everyone had everything.

Fast forward to 2017 and the cool kids are no longer determined by the toys in their desk, but in fact, the number of followers that one has on Instagram. I was scrolling through Instagram the other day, actually, and I thought I’d check out the discovery section for the first time, and see what interesting things are going on outside of my immediate following and, to say I was shocked, is nothing short of an understatement. And no, I am not referring to the endless amount of selfies or memes.

A twelve-year-old girl with 8000 followers????

The f@#k is going on?

When I was twelve I didn’t even know what Instagram was, let alone have 1000s of followers on it. I don’t even have 1000s of followers on my Instagram now! In fact, I haven’t even met 8000 people in my life to know whether or not they’d like to follow me on Instagram, let alone those that actually have.

Madness!

Anyway, as time goes by and technology gets better and easier to access, the effects of this will continue to spread throughout our families and social groups. This is where the fidget spinner comes in. The underwhelming attempt at a modern Beyblade has taken the world by storm, and one thing you notice straight away is that this trend is a physical one, as opposed to an app. It’s worth noting that these are safe too, in comparison to the deadly “hoverboards” of 2015.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I loved Flappy Bird as much as the next guy, but it’s about time we get another fancy gadget to tell our friends about without sacrificing all my phone’s battery life, and without breaking the bank.

For as little as 99p on eBay, it’s never been so easy to be one of the coolest kids on the internet.

Back to saving the world, for the first time in years, I’ve witnessed my two youngest brothers putting their phones and tablets down, running to the nearest superstore and asking my mum to buy them the toy they’ve wanted for their whole last 20 minutes.

Despite not owning one myself, the love I get from seeing children craze about something like this again is exciting, regardless of how long this goes on for. It’s also funny seeing adults playing with toys, I’d love to see an old man on some Heely’s or something, bringing “swag” back.

Could this bring an end to our addiction to our phones and make us physically interact with people again? Even if just for a little bit?

Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!


For those of you who don’t know, my exams start on Monday… Wish me luck!

I probably won’t be posting much during this period, so be patient with me and read some of my old posts if you start feeling withdrawals!

I’m aiming to get at least three out, but I can’t confirm any dates and I make no promises, so time will tell.

At any rate, thank you for your patience and I’ll see you all soon!

Leave a Reply

